This functionality requires the Dropbox Integration and an active Dropbox account.
Dropbox Integration means that all files and folders in the document archive ("Documents" in the menu) are synchronized to a folder in Dropbox. This is a great way to always have an automatic backup in Dropbox.
Additionally, the built-in recovery feature of Dropbox can be used to recover files that have been accidentally deleted.
Enable Dropbox Integration
Go to the Add-ons Shop and order the “Dropbox Integration” add-on by clicking the “Activate” button.
Then go to Settings > Integrations and click “Activate” on the Dropbox integration to make the actual connection between Boardeaser and the Dropbox account to be used.
Boardeaser recommends using a Dropbox account controlled by the organization and not an individual user, but any Dropbox account will technically work.
In the next step, enter the username and password to be used for the organization's Dropbox.
Then approve the connection between Dropbox and Boardeaser by clicking "Continue".
Once the connection is made, a file structure is created like this in the Dropbox folder:
Dropbox > Apps > Boardeaser > [organization folder]
Click the “Upload document archive” button on Integrations to create a folder in Dropbox > Apps for the organization and then transfer all content from Documents in Boardeaser to it. This may take a few minutes depending on the amount of material to be transferred.
Synchronize content from Boardeaser to Dropbox
The basic setting is that the content in Boardeaser is henceforth synchronized from Boardeaser to Dropbox, so that the connection is made as above, the entire content of Documents in Boardeaser is synchronized to the organization's folder in Dropbox continuously.
As soon as a file is added to Documents, it is also added to Dropbox, and if a file is removed from Documents, it is also removed from the Dropbox folder (deleted files can be restored in Dropbox, click here to read more). However, if a file is added to the Dropbox folder, it will not be transferred to Documents, read further down on how to sync this way instead.
If some folders do not appear in Dropbox, it is probably because they are empty in Boardeaser, folders are only transferred if they contain a file.
From this point on, all files and folders are continuously synchronized from the Dropbox folder to the Documents in Boardeaser, so anything added or removed in the Dropbox folder is added or removed in Boardeaser. Files added to Documents in Boardeaser will not be transferred to Dropbox.
Go to Settings > Advanced Settings and locate the Storage section at the bottom of the page. Select Synchronize files between: Deactivated to deactivate all automatic synchronization. All files and folders located on Documents in Boardeaser and in the Dropbox folder remain and will not be affected if files in the opposite location are changed.
Go to Settings > Integrations and select “Deactivate” for Dropbox and the connection between Boardeaser and previously selected Dropbox account will be removed. You can now choose to synchronize Boardeaser with another Dropbox account. Nothing is deleted in either Dropbox or Boardeaser if the account is deactivated but the automatic synchronization stops.